We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

New Wards in East Suffolk District Council

In February 2018, the Government approved a bid from Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council to merge. A Local Government Changes Order 2 was subsequently approved by Parliament on 24 May 2018, establishing a new East Suffolk Council from 1 April 2019

The Boundary Commission have now agreed to the proposals for a 55-member council for East Suffolk constituting a reduction of 39% in terms of the overall number of councillors representing the area to be covered by the new authority

The recommendations must now be approved by Parliament. A draft Order - the legal document which brings into force the Commission's recommendations - will be laid in Parliament. Subject to parliamentary scrutiny, the new electoral arrangements will come into force at the local elections in May 2019. Until that time by-elections for seats that become vacant will take place under the current electoral boundaries for the respective District Council.

The new District Council effective from 1st April 2019 will have 29 wards with 55 Councillors as follows:

Key to the summary map: New ES Wards (Boundary Commission for England)

1. Aldeburgh & Leiston

2. Beccles & Worlingham

3. Bungay & Wainford

4. Carlford & Fynn Valley

5. Carlton & Whitton

6. Carlton Colville

7. Deben

8. Eastern Felixstowe

9. Framlingham

10. Gunton & St Margarets

11. Halesworth & Blything

12. Harbour & Normanston

13. Kelsale & Yoxford

14. Kesgrave

15. Kessingland

16. Kirkley & Pakefield

17. Lothingland

18. Martlesham & Purdis Farm

19. Melton

20. Orwell & Villages

21. Oulton Broad

22. Rendlesham & Orford

23. Rushmere St Andrew

24. Saxmundham

25. Southwold

26. Western Felixstowe

27. Wickham Market

28. Woodbridge

29. Wrentham,Wangford & Westleton