We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dems set out timetable to elect next leader

January 22, 2020 5:00 PM
By Liberal Democrats
Originally published by South West Wiltshire Liberal Democrats

Lib Dem Leadership ()The Liberal Democrats have agreed the timetable to elect the next leader of the Liberal Democrats

At a meeting of the party's Federal Board in London last weekend, the Party agreed to open nominations for candidates on the 11th of May and close them on the 28th of May.

The ballot will then open to members on the 18th of June and close on the 15th of July, after which the party will announce the next leader.

In the meantime, Ed Davey MP and new Party President Mark Pack will continue as joint acting leaders of the Liberal Democrats.

Mark PackSpeaking after the meeting, Liberal Democrat Party President Mark Pack said:

"I want first to thank Jo Swinson for her determined leadership of the Liberal Democrats.

"The Liberal Democrats are the home for everyone who shares our vision of an outward-looking, caring country that celebrates diversity and benefits from high-quality public services.

"With our party membership at record levels, I urge everyone else who shares our values to join us in the coming days and vote in the leadership election."