We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dems GAIN Southwold and Reydon as the vote soars

July 13, 2018 4:05 AM

LIB DEMS GAIN southwold & reydon seat from the tories and get the FIRST WAVENEY district COUNCILLOR SINCE 2008

David beavan elected with a majority of 698. Winning

Congratulations to David Beavan and his fantastic team of supporters for a brilliant campaign and magnificent result.

David has campaigned locally long and hard against the second homes taxation loophole and lack of affordable housing and this result is well deserved. David, who was the runner up in last years County Council election took the seat from the tories with 71.38% of the vote. With a local electoral agreement in place, the Green Party endorsed David and the voters clearly switched their votes on a massive scale. By-election celebration

Full result of the the by-elections in Southwold & Reydon and Pakefield Wards (Waveney District Council)

Elections held on Thursday 12th July 2018

Southwold & Reydon

David BeavanDavid Beavan: Lib Dem 1,005 (71.38%) Elected

Burrows: Conservative 307 (21.8%)

Cracknell: Labour 78 (5.54%)

Shaw: UKIP 18 (1.28%)

Turnout 2018 = 49.2 %

Turnout 2015 = 72.26% Conservative held (No LD candidate)


A disappointing result in Pakefield for Adam Robertson with Labour losing the seat to the Conservatives by a margin of 43.

Thank you for flying the flag for Lib Dem voters Adam.

Pakefield Adam Robertson

Lang: Green Party 64

Adam Robertson: Lib Dem 44

Trindall: UKIP 116

Tyack: Labour 600

Di G Allidoro: Conservative 643 Elected

Conservative gain from Labour

Turnout 2018 = 43.83%

Turnout 2015 = 67.61% Labour held ( LD 351 - 9.42%)